The DIA is an Australian organisation with Branches representing designers in all states and territories. 

Each of the DIA's Branches has a Branch Council and the organisation has a National Council headed by a National President and permanent staff headed by a CEO.

Branches and Councils

The DIA has six Branches that represent every state and territory. Each Branch runs events and programs for members to help you in your professional life. A Branch Council (usually around ten people) is elected by the local members (Associate, MDIA members and Fellows). Each state council organises for the needs and interests of their local design constituency.

National Council

Each Branch appoints representatives to a National Council – the board of directors of the Design Institute of Australia. The National Council oversees the strategic direction of the organisation.

DIA National Council Members
Julie Hobbs, FDIA
National President
Jo-Ann Kellock, FDIA (Hon)
Chief Executive Officer
Claire Beale, FDIA
National Vice President
Olivia Mathisen, MDIA
QLD Co-President
Gavin Campbell, MDIA
WA Co-President
Peter Coombs, MDIA
SA/NT Co-President
Elisabeth VanDyk, FDIA
NSW President
Jillian Draiden, MDIA
WA Co-President
Lisa Biddiscombe, MDIA
ACT President
Valerie Mack, FDIA
VIC/TAS President
Karinna Gobbo, FDIA
NSW Representative
Wayne Dixon, MDIA
SA/NT Representative
Beck Davis, MDIA
QLD Representative
Femke Rensen, FDIA
ACT Representative
Peter Tsipas
Company Secretary